Former Champ Car driver ready for Mexican GP support race

The race aims to celebrate the Champ Car events that took place at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit between 2002 and 2007.

Drivers will use similarly tuned 500 hp V8 cars that normally compete in the Gran Turismo Mexico series.

The team is led by five Mexican drivers who raced in the Champ Car era, namely Adrian Fernandez, Mario Dominguez, Michel Jourdain Jr., Roberto Gonzalez and Luis Diaz. The latter only got two starts in the series, but both times in his local race.

Local stars are joined by Paul Tracy, Mark Blundell, Alex Tagliani, Oriol Servia, Max Papis, Bruno Junqueira and Casey Mears.

Papis, Blundell and Mears did not actually participate in the Mexico City Champ Car race; Papis did not drive a full season in 2002 and 2003, while Blundell and Mears left the series before the inaugural event.

The Mexico City race was a popular stop on the Champ Car calendar before it was scrapped in 2008 following the merger with IndyCar.

The only previous Legends Cup winner is Tracy, who triumphed in 2003, although Junqueira had been on pole the year before.

Other Mexico City winners are Sebastian Bourdais (2004, 2006 and 2007), Kenny Brack (2002) and Justin Wilson (2005).

“Before we hosted F1 in Mexico, we used to promote the Champ Car World Series at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez and it was as big as F1 is today,” said Mexico GP boss Federico Gonzalez.

“To be able to bring all these legends together for a unique event here in Mexico is a huge privilege for us and for the Mexican fans. We are confident that the Freightliner Legends Cup will be a successful event at this year’s race.

“It will be a very special event to bring together fantastic drivers who have given us unforgettable moments in the past. ยป

The last time a similar event was held at the track was in 1989, when Michel Jourdain Sr. promoted a race called the Challenge des Nations, a one-off precursor to the A1 GP featuring stock Chrysler cars and drivers representing their country.

This race featured a mix of visiting drivers including Derek Bell, Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Gianni Morbidelli, Frank Biela, Jim Richards, John Andretti, Wilson and Christian Fittipaldi.

Leave a Comment